Just daddying around

Why do you blog?

I was just wondering that myself.

Why do I blog? Why am I exposing myself to the web world?

What do I seek? What do I want to accomplish?

Why millions of people create web blogs, communities, post their thoughts, their pictures and their souls on the web?

Is it a substitute for the old secret diary we use to keep locked with that small silver key?

But that was locked. And web content is all but that.

Everyone can read “you”. Your friends, your mom, your girlfriend, your husband, even your boss !

So is blogging self-journalism? Yes there are some sites doing journalism. War, tech, knit, love, sex, anything goes.

But there are sites of individuals that are soul-blogs. Inner thoughts and emotions that nobody else would know otherwise.

So why do you do it ? Well here are my thoughts on that matter.

Recognition, popularity, fame, self-promotion. It’s sad, but it all comes to that.

Bloggers fight over Top 10 or Top 100 lists.  The higher the better. The more visitors the merrier. .

They fight over Technorati ranks. They fight over how much their blog is worth.

They comment like they are possesed. They post like hell. They tag their posts with a huge cloud of tags that have nothing to do with the post.

Just for the publicity. Just for the exposure. Just for the traffic. Bloggers want to be read. Not like that secret-hidden-locked-diary some of us used to have. Bloggers want to be somebody on the net. They want success.

Yes I would like that also. I would be very happy of I had 15.000 of everyday visitors/readers/followers. So is that all to it? Our 15 minutes of fame ?

Some are blogging  for money. Some are blogging as part of a open source project. Some are blogging beacause they need to be a part of a team, a member in a community. Some are blogging without knowing why. No problem either way.

But why do you do it ?

Just wonder.
Dont blog about it.

Just tell yourself.

3 responses

  1. I blog because I like to write. I blog because I like stories. I blog because I like a well writen story. And I truly enjoy ‘listening’ reading other people’s stories as well.No one outside of my cyberworld knows I blog. And I have developed a love of my cyberfriends. I have not blogged a year and yet,I have ‘met’ through comments some pretty amazing people who write great stories and share wonderful ideas. It sometimes feels like a giant cocktail party…

    February 7, 2007 at 3:01 pm

  2. Actually, I think that it is a lot easier to talk about ourselves in front the whole world, that we don’t know, than it would be in front of our friends and family.

    It is like an outlet for the things that we cannot say in real life for some, like their place for being who they would like to be but can’t, or be somebody else.

    Like in those virtual worlds that are so in style right now like Second Life and such. Another way of escaping reality I guess…

    February 8, 2007 at 3:13 am

  3. As a teacher my role was to educate, console, amuse, entertain, pacify and, above all, interest my students. I suppose, in my retirement, I’ve substituted blogging.
    No fixed audience but no fixed curriculum either. I teach, entertain or whatever, as I feel fit, when I choose.
    I’m happy when the number of hits rises. I’m even happier when readers leave comments to say they’ve learned something or been amused. If I’ve made even one person’s day a bit happier or interesting then it’s worth it.

    February 15, 2007 at 7:18 pm

Leave a Reply

