Just daddying around

Photosig frustration

butterfly voyer

It was back in early 2003 when I decided to sign up to the well known photo critique website Photosig.

What I wanted was to get critiques to my photos so I can become a better snapshot shooter.

I wont even consider myself a real photographer.

I didnt become a paid member there and I dont regret it.

The reason I am writing this is that I am so frustrated by the people there.

Last picture I uploaded there is the first one in this post. I got 368 views and not one critique or comment.

Ok my photo isnt a masterpiece but I could use a comment or an advice.

Well my opinion is that if “voyeur” wasnt included in the photo title I would have less than half the views.

Just check the frontpage of photosig.

Nudes mostly. Artistic and beautiful pictures with great models mostly pros and with techniques and equipment I can only dream of.

club dancer When I posted that picture I got 2,393 views and 4 (!) critiques ! Mostly bad critiques but I dont mind that.

So it seems great photographers only shoot nudes and so they get the attention they deserve.
Well that happens only in photosig website.

Sure, there are not only nudes that make it on the first page. I have done it also with this picture : Boat Wreck

Great bird or landscape pictures get attention too. But the percentage is so small.
I am so disapointed by the voyeurism that was all over there.

In some cases the nudity became so disgusting the admins there had to make ratings for the photos.

Yes I have uploaded there a couple of nudes shots but nothing insulting. I happen to like nude photography too !
But the situation there was becoming so unfriendly I decided to stop uploading my photos. Plus the site is so dull and ugly !
Thats why I signed up to Flickr and I also paid for a subscription.
Nudes there not allowed well at least not in public areas and its a more friendly site.
Still I havent got so many comments but I am still the new guy on the block.
I love the groups idea and the whole picture management !

And its so Web 2.0 ! and fun !
So see you at Flickr

7 responses

  1. jg

    bullshit…counted 3 nudes on todays front page, all blocked unless you purposely set your account to view..and I don’t like many things about photosig myself…

    August 12, 2006 at 7:15 am

  2. Jack Dodson

    Photosig is not perfect, but I still like it.

    Some photographs will be ignored. They try to draw attention to “neglected photographs” and encourage their critiques.

    Most photographs will only get 1-3 critiques unless very good or very interesesting or controversial. There are more “points” given for the first three critiques and it is harder to find something unique to add.

    The point is to offer or recieve thoughts on how to make an image better.

    The pictures are content rated by the photographers G, R, X. If you only want to see the G rated images you can make that a preference.

    Many of the “views” that the nude images get are from general web surfers, not necessarily all by the photography community.

    Just my thoughts.

    Jack

    August 15, 2006 at 10:33 pm

  3. Don

    Seems a lot has changed at photosig in the past 3 years I’ve been a member there. Overall it’s still a really go site. But I noticed that the types of images have changed. I see more “snapshot type” images there now. Also more birds, nudes, and other repeated animal (nothihng wrong with these, just so many) pics. Getting harder to find images with real thought behind them. Also seeing were people have made up their own rules and try to force others to live by them. I’m not enjoying the site as much as I use to, but it’s still a great site.

    November 27, 2006 at 11:43 pm

  4. lyn

    i have been a sometimes paid, sometimes non-paying member of sig for years mostly as a critiquer. recently i have been logged into sig and hahad that login switched to another site. after submitting a brief and very supportive forum post asking about the switch it was blocked. so i re-entered another post and it was deleted!photosig is becoming omnipotent site where anything that questions their authority, adds new ideas or personal views are either blocked or deleted. not very hospitable.

    December 12, 2008 at 9:05 am

  5. Your blog is very interresting for me, i will come back here..

    May 22, 2009 at 10:53 pm

  6. Robert

    Things never change on photosig, you could change the date on this blog to 2009 and things are still the same. So many quality photographers have fled the site to get away from Sheena photosig main administrator. Looking over this website http://www.sheenasig.com explains a lot of people’s frustrations.

    October 2, 2009 at 6:39 pm

  7. I totally agree with your “photosig frustration” .
    The most ugly pictures of (half)- naked woman becomes the nicest critics with a whole technic-bla, bla……and 2 or three tubs up, and I don’t understand that, however when this critics
    are from “voyeurs” I understand it very well.

    When I have not posted for more than 3 or 4 weeks, the administrator ask me “where are you” of somthing like that.
    And when I a posted te latest picture, then this picture is
    “locked”, wirth the commend: “You seem to be having some difficulty writing conforming critiques” .
    It’s just like a grammar school, when you are not listen to the
    “teacher” you get punished.

    I think I will try “Flickr”.

    Best regards

    Louis de Nijs

    December 27, 2009 at 11:30 am

Leave a Reply

