Just daddying around

Death

It was early January when my father was diagnosed with lung cancer.
Really, I wasnt aware of what was going to come.
He did four sessions of chemotherapy but it hurt main organs so he stopped.
In early July it seemed that the fight was going well.
Cancer was almost stable.
But after some test the truth came out much different.
Metastasis to my father’s spine, liver and lymphs.
It seemed that the war was nearly over.
The cancer mass at his spine was pressing main nevres and caused insufferable pain.
He tried to overcome it but alas…
The last two weeks of his life for some reason he was not in pain.
Chemotherapy was out of the question so he had a radiotherapy treatment.
But no luck.
Other health problems like vascular diseases made things worse.
Last Sunday at 21.00 he passed away at home.
My sister and I were holding him as he left this world.
Surely, I have not completely realized what has happened.
His presence is still here, I feel it all the time.
Now, that all the funeral fuss is over now,
I feel the emptiness his death has caused.
I will remember him, that is certain.
And I am sure he is watching and looking after my sister and me as he always did.

3 responses

  1. Anonymous

    iam sorry for your loss…. expect waves to wash over you when you don’t expect them at first they might almost knock you over… in time the waves calm down do not hit as hard and after a long time they will be gentle soothing waves but untill then be still, be strong let it wash over you yield to it then let it retract as it will. been there done it…. rest.. our your mind.

    October 8, 2005 at 4:48 am

  2. Thanks for the advice.
    Waves come smashing on me right now.
    I hope I will be strong enough…

    October 9, 2005 at 8:47 pm

  3. Anonymous

    I´m so sorry for your loss! Keep holding on!

    November 7, 2005 at 12:46 am

Leave a Reply

