Just daddying around

Beyond Good and Evil…

Lately I stumbled upon a phrase from Friedrich Nietzsche:

He who fights with monsters should be careful lest he
thereby become a monster. And if thou gaze long into an abyss,
the abyss will also gaze into thee.

This is from a book of his, called Beyond Good and Evil (1886) and this quote is verse number 146 in chapter 1 : Prejudices of Philosophers.
If you want to read it you can download a legal FREE copy of the book from Project Gutenberg

This was not the first time I happen to think about that phrase. I have bumped into it a couple of times in the past.
It’s not that I am fan of Nietzsche. Sometimes its too difficult for me to understand him.
But it happens once in a while that you hear something and it echoes in your head…
Usually for some minutes… but sometimes for some years.
I don’t want to analyse that phrase for you.
This is YOUR job.
But my point of view now has changed regarding this phrase.
I see my abyss. My personal abyss.
I know it looks back at me. That’s the hard part.
Its a feeling like self awareness. Like you are watching a movie and you are the leading actor.
Strange. And terrifying.
I think that’s what he had in mind when writing this…
Nietzsche died mentally ill and his disease is not yet determined.
Coincidence ?
Maybe he looked too deep.
So be careful. Very careful.

One response

  1. Heidi Cole

    On WordPress support you mentioned gmail invites. Do you have anymore?

    September 14, 2004 at 7:22 pm